Pierce Brosnan`s Son In L.A. Hospital After Crash

MALIBU, Calif. (Reuters) – Sean Brosnan, the 16-year-old son of actor Pierce Brosnan, remained in a California hospital in serious condition on Sunday after the sport utility vehicle in which he was riding plunged over an embankment on Saturday, the California Highway Patrol said.

The young Brosnan was taken to a local hospital after the predawn accident and operated on for a broken pelvis, a possible fractured vertebrae and a ruptured bladder, CHP Officer Frank Sansone said.

The driver of the SUV, James Hall, 19, a cousin of Brosnan, was charged with felony drunken driving, but was not jailed because of ongoing medical treatment, the highway patrol said.

Hall told police he lost control of the 1982 Chevrolet Blazer when he tried to avoid hitting a rock. The vehicle then plunged over an embankment on a private road in the Malibu hills.

Four other teen-agers, several of whom the CHP said had been drinking, were in the car at the time of the accident and suffered minor injuries. Only Brosnan was hospitalized.

Pierce Brosnan, best known as the latest actor to play James Bond, was at his Malibu home when the accident occurred at about 3:45 a.m. PDT (6:45 a.m. EDT/1045 GMT) on Saturday. He raced to his son`s side and accompanied him on the helicopter ride to the hospital. The Irish-born actor lost his wife, Cassandra Harris, Sean`s mother, to ovarian cancer in 1991. He is engaged to be married to Keely Shaye-Smith.

Leave a Reply